Walking Tour in Manchester Town

The last time I visited Manchester was seven years back when I was still an undergraduate student in Liverpool Law School. So, last Saturday, my husband gave an idea of having a day tour back to the red city.

It was raining when we arrived at Manchester Piccadilly train station and we decided to have our own way of walking tour around the town without a map. The environment at that time reminds me of Edinburgh, though it was raining, the place was still busy with people. The shopping complex is heaven! I think I would enjoy shopping and spend lots if I lived in Manchester. And that Saturday, the city was not boring as there were activities going on such as the Urban Moves International Dance Festival, Spanish Festival, markets selling all sort of artistic things and food.

Spanish Festival

Spanish Festival

As my husband and I walked down the Piccadilly Gardens, a lady approached and invited us to see one of the free performances of the Urban Moves International Dance Festival. The show started at 12 afternoon and the first show was by a guy known as Corey Baker. He was enthusiastically making many kinds of dance moves following the medley musics with headphones.

Corey Baker Dance: Headphones

Corey Baker Dance: Headphones

Quite interesting but we decided not to stay on until the end of the show since we had few hours left to bush around the city. Walking further, we bumped into market selling variety of food- pastries, grilled meat, burgers, vegetarians etc. Few stalls were selling halal food and we tried the Turkish Hot grilled meat wrap with spicy sauce with only £3.50. The taste was awesome! We also tried a piece of blueberry cheese cake from a stall called Manchester Tarts Robinson. It was good.

The Market

The Market

Pastry Stall

Pastry Stall

After having short lunch break, we kept on walking and I can see lots of stalls selling umbrellas with variety of designs and colours. I was told that Manchester would always rain but I cannot recall that it has always been like this in the past. We went to Selfridges and other shopping places which I cannot remember names. I did not buy anything because my intention was to observe the city and I prefer to keep myself light when travelling.

Manchester China Town

Manchester China Town

We went to Manchester China Town and had good buffet at Tops Restaurant. I would recommended this restaurant for buffet lovers. The chicken served is halal, reasonable price and comfortable place to enjoy your meal. Each customer is allowed to eat for 1.5 hours only which I think it is a reasonable rule. The food not limited to Chinese food as there were also Thai, Indian, Japanese and Western cuisines. The price differs depending on time and the day you are having buffet. I was starving that I forgot to snap the picture of the restaurant. For the readers information, you could actually google the location of the restaurant as it is quite popular.

While walking back towards the city centre, we saw few men and women wore clothes featuring the past. I understand that they were acting as ghostly characters and were actually attracting the public to watch their free show at the Cathedral Gardens. Their show was also part of the festival that I have mentioned above.

Ghostly Characters Actors

Ghostly Characters Actors

With the scenery and buildings in the area that they were performing, I did feel as if I was in the 18th century.

Buildings

Buildings

Another Unique Building

Another Unique Building

We followed those ‘ghosts’ and saw the Cathedral.

Cathedral in Manchester

Cathedral in Manchester

Both of us decided to go in and see how does the inside looks like. This is not our first time entering a cathedral but sometimes internal structure might be differed. There were children practising choir and some visitors were seating saying their prayers while others taking pictures. It was almost 4 o’clock and a man with black clothing (I think he is a priest) giving the visitors signal that the Cathedral was about to close.

So out we went and continued our walked. We saw those ‘ghosts’ again but this time they were making a proper show on their owned made arena. They had done the show half way thus I could not understand the story line. It was a very artsy story. By listening the music background, I bet it was a sad story.

Anyway, we did not stay on and ended our walking trip for that day by taking train back to Liverpool from the Manchester Oxford train station. My feet aching and both of us slept on the train until safely arrived at Liverpool Lime Street Station. The walking tour was tiresome but it was fun to walk without having a map.

 

 

Leave a Reply

