Recently Visited: Blackpool

Last week was my busiest week as I had to complete practical assignments which is part of my distance learning diploma course. So, to treat myself, I made a day trip to Blackpool on Saturday and of course with my husband who is now is my compulsory travelling mate. *wink*

I heard lots of comments from friends who have been to Blackpool and all were negatives. Most of them said it would be the last place they would go. ‘But I have never been to Blackpool’, I told them and I decided to make one day trip and learn it for myself.

My husband and I woke up at half six with the hope to catch up the earliest train. Unfortunately, both of us had tummy-ache that morning so we delayed and took the next train at half 9 and reached there around 11am. Our first attraction was the Pleasure Beach theme park! Bear in mind that the price online and at the gate differs. It is cheaper to get it online. However, you still need to jam in long queue to collect your ticket even you have purchased it online. In some ways, it does make sense since you need to wear the entrance wristband which can only be collected at the ticket counter.

Pleasure Beach

Pleasure Beach

Some parts of the theme park

Some parts of the theme park

The theme park is huge with lots of different versions of roller coasters. We spent 7 hours in the theme park trying almost all the thrilled rides! I think since its opening in 1994, the theme park has grew bigger with the addition of the Nickelodeon Land (though I am not sure how does the theme park looks like previously, I just saw few old photos of the park at the exit and I could see the difference). Among all rides there are two thrilled rides that I would recommend any adult to try namely the Revolution and the Big One. The Revolution is a speed roller coaster where it goes forward and reverse at higher speed than normal roller coaster that I have tried. Seriously, it feels like your heart dropping and I even sweat after the ride. The Big One is really BIG and longest ride where the roller coaster would go as high as 200 ft and drops down and finish up the long rail. This was the one I think most people meant when they say ‘you can even see the beach outside the park’! And I am happy and proud of myself that I have tried that *BIG SMILE*

200 ft Roller Coaster now known as the Big One

200 ft Roller Coaster now known as the Big One

View of Big One from outside the park

View of Big One from outside the park

The Pleasure Beach closed at 8.00pm that Saturday but we went off earlier since there so much to explore in Blackpool. The buildings in Blackpool town looks ancient and I like it. It feels like in the old English movies scenes which I think it is worth to preserve such buildings for tourism purposes. The beach is clean and guess what, I got to see the sunset!

Blackpool Beach

Blackpool Beach

the Sunset

the Sunset

At night, Blackpool totally transferred into a very happening place. Feels like I am in Las Vegas though I never been there. I would say it is a place of fun and full of amusement outlets especially during the night. There were lots of people including both adults and children. Also, we were very lucky because we got to see the Blackpool lights which is one of the events in September and trams with pretty lights. There are many tourist attractions other than theme parks such as the Sea World, Madame Tussauds and the tower (looks like Eiffel Tower). I noticed that there are lots of rock candies, gelato ice cream and fudge stores in Blackpool. I guess that what makes many parents bring their children here. If adult gets drunk due to alcohol kids would get drunk due to the sugar here!

Blackpool Town

Blackpool Town

Blackpool Lights starting from Pleasure Beach to the North of the town

Blackpool Lights starting from Pleasure Beach to the North of the town

Tram with pretty lights

Tram with pretty lights

Collage Posters- one of the coolest thing

Collage Posters- one of the coolest thing

So… I would say that all the negative comments about Blackpool is all WRONG. I am not sure how Blackpool was like in the past but I like the present Blackpool that I visited recently. *Thumbs up*

 

P/s: For the Muslims, no worry for food as there are lots choices of halal restaurants and stalls in Blackpool. In fact, there are halal food in the Pleasure Beach which I am so glad of that.

 

Leave a Reply

