Neighbour

neighbours

After five months living in Liverpool, it is very rare for the door bell rings unless we have invited guests i.e. our (my husband and me) close friends. However, yesterday, while I was busy baking orange muffins and my husband watching football match on TV, the door bell rings. We looked at each other speechless and giving signals ‘who is that? should we open the door?’

Still continue baking, then my husband got up from the couch and made the effort to open the door. From the kitchen I heard some friendly voice so I stopped my work and went to the door peeking behind my husband before I moved forward and shake hand with the friendly new girl who just moved in next door. She’s from Saudi Arabia and her effort for knocking (well, she rings the bell but I just feel like using the traditional way of saying it) the door to get to know neighbour has always been the Malays’ cultures back in Malaysia and also it is a positive attitude that Islam encouraged us to do. I feel ashamed of myself for not continuing the culture here.

I am glad that she was brave enough to knock her neighbour’s door just to say “Hello” and seeing a very young girl from the new generation to do that, made me feel that the world hasn’t end yet.

Here what our Messenger of Allah, Prophet Muhammad SAW said:

“He who believes in Allah and the Day of Judgment should help his neighbor.” (Bukhari, Adab, 31; Muslim, Iman, 74, 76, 77; Ibn Majah, Adab, 4; Darimi, At`ima, 11).

“The best friend in the sight of Allah is the one who treats his friend well and the best neighbor in the sight of Allah is the one who treats his neighbor well.” (Bukhari, Iman, 31; Tirmidhi, Birr, 28)

 

Picture source:

http://jaynelc.files.wordpress.com/2011/01/neighbours.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

