The Job Hunter

I was very lucky that before I graduated, I was offered the Young Lecturer Scheme Scholarship by the Malaysia Ministry of Education . They offered to fund my postgraduate studies for both masters and PhD in the United Kingdom and United States. In return, if I completed my studies, I was promised for a lecturer in law position in one of the public universities in Malaysia. Also, I was bonded for certain number of years. I unconditionally accepted the offer and I went to Norwich, United Kingdom to pursue my masters degree in International Competition Law and Policy. Once I had finished my masters, I was supposed to go to Salford Law School in the United States to continue my PhD under the same scholarship but for some reasons, I decided not to. Firmly, I went back home and worked with Universiti Teknologi MARA. It is the largest university in Malaysia with more than 20 branches across the country and has one of the best law school in Malaysia. I was very proud to be part of Universiti Teknologi MARA particularly the Terengganu branch.

Now, as I have resigned from this job, I am experiencing the stress that most graduates experienced when they hunt for jobs. Being a job hunter is not that easy especially when you are migrated in another country, you are an experienced person in professional position and the position that you are looking for are limited at the place you are living hence it is very competitive. Also, it seems to be the policy of UK and the EU that any vacant job must be offered first to the locals. If no locals meet the person specification then it has to be offered to the EEA citizens. If no EEA citizens able to fit the person specification, only then it will be offered to non-EEA citizens. Therefore, just imagine if I am applying for a lecturer in law position in Liverpool and the University only need one person, can you imagine how many people that I am competing with?

Somehow, I actually enjoy the adventure of hunting a job here. The recruiters have specifically describe the job roles, person specification, salary, benefits etc. That makes it easier for you to structure both your CV and cover letter. At the end of the day, I realised that making the paper works perfect at the eyes of the employers are very important and that may secure you an interview. I have tried and tested myself. I found that when I missed out any answer to the person specification on my CV, my application was declined and vice versa. I also found that as long as your CV able to cover the desirable criteria, you might be short listed for an interview.

I do hope that my job hunting adventure will end soon and being replaced with a permanent professional job at the academic sector.

Leave a Reply

